Nanalteco has a highly sophisticated lab 

























Our team comprises of highly qualified  researchers, engineers, technicians

Key Personnel:

Leonid Kustov

Prof. Leonid M. Kustov is the NANALTECO director. His Research Areas are development of heterogeneous catalysts, including those supported onto novel materials (inorganic gels, metal nets, foamed metals) and ionic liquids aimed at their use in selective oxidation of alkanes, alkenes and arenes, conversion of methane into synthesis gas, complete oxidation of trace amounts of volatile compounds in gas vents, reduction of nitrogen oxides by hydrocarbons and removal of nitrogen oxides by NO2 adsorption. He made seminal contributions to:

-  Specific MOF (metal organic frameworks) materials and related Mixed Matrix Membranes for separation of light gases

-  Selective adsorbent for removal of water from ammonia

-  Efficient air separation PSA material (better than low-silica X zeolite)

-  Materials for removal of ammonia from inert gases

-  Chemisorbent for removal of oxygen impurities from diverse gases

-  Adsorbents for cold start emissions (capable of holding toluene and other hydrocarbons up to 350C),

-  Adsorbent/catalyst for PCB removal in water and soil

-  Hydrogen storage in reversible catalytic cycles of hydrogenation-dehydrogenation of organic compounds (up to 7.5-8.0 wt. % of H2­),

-  Separation of CH4/C2H6, CH4/CO2, CH4/C2H4, C2H6/C2H4 and other couples on MOF or COFs supported on ceramic membranes membrane systems,

-  Selective removal of acetylenes and dienes by adsorption.

-  MOF Materials for conservation/storage of flavors/odors

Partial or complete oxidation of various substrates

Jonathan Chen

Director of the IT Department.  He graduated

the Maryland University (USA) in 2000 and

works for NANALTECO as an IT specialist

picture 10.jpg
Kanellopoulos Nick

Nick Kanellopoulos obtained his Ph.D. from the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Rochester, New York in 1975, and his Chemical Engineering diploma from the National Technical University of Athens in 1970. He joined the Mass Transport Laboratory, Institute of Physical Chemistry, NCSR Demokritos in 1976, and since 1992 he is the head of the “Membranes for Environmental Separations” Laboratory (MESL), NCSR Demokritos.

His research interests are pore structure characterization nanoporous membrane and carbon nanotube systems and their evaluation of their performance using combination of in-situ and ex-situ techniques. He is author and co-author of more than 130 papers and he is the editor of the “Recent Advances in Gas Separation by Microporous Membranes”, ELSEVIER Science, of the “Nanoporous Materials, Advanced techniques for Characterization, Modelling and Processing”, Taylor and Francis and co-editor of the “Nanoporous materials for Energy and Environment”, Stanford Chong. He has received a total funding from over 50 European and national programs of the order of 12 million Euros. He participated in the National representation committee of Greece for the FP6-NMP and FP7-NMP European programs in Nanotechnology from 2001-2009. He is the coordinator of the European Network of Excellence in nanotechnology, he is a member of the Committee of the Kurchatov-Demokritos Project Center for Nanotechnology and Advanced Engineering and he is the coordinator of the Committee for the preparation and submission of the proposal for a Greek National Nanotechnology program. He is a Fulbright scholar and president of the Greek Fulbright Scholars Association.

Julia Sanchez

Director of the Projects and Grants Department